Strasbourg Session

44th National Session of EYP France

16-19th of March  2018

Participants :

  • 100 delegates from France and all over Europe
  • 29 officials
  • 15 teachers accompanying the delegates


  • Conseil de l’Europe
  • Conseil Municipal de Strasbourg
  • Lieu d’Europe
  • Lycée International des Pontonniers

The Programme

During these four days, the participants of the Forum will have a chance to explore the EU’s commitments and propose their own solutions to current issues.

The format of the session is based on the European Parliament procedures and adapted to suit EYP goals. It includes a day of Teambuilding, followed by two days of Committee Work and one day of General Assembly.


During Teambuilding the participants get to know each other through a series of informal activities. At this stage, the delegates begin working together in preparation for the discussions to follow.

Committee Work

During Committee Work delegates analyse the topic of their committee, identify the issues it entails and discuss solutions to these issues. The output of Committee Work is a written resolution.

General Assembly

The last part of every session is a General Assembly (GA). At GA, the committees come together to present and debate the resolutions they wrote. At the end, the resolutions are put to a vote.

Why Strasbourg?

Strasbourg is the seat of many European institutions, including the European Parliament, the Council of Europe and the European Court of Human Rights. It is also the city with the second largest diplomatic presence in France.

The European Parliament is the Parliamentary body of the European Union and has been elected by its citizens every five years since 1979. With the Council of Ministers, it constitutes the legislative branch of the European institutions.

The Parliament comprises 751 MEPs representing the 28 Member States, and the 500 million European citizens.

The Treaty of Maastricht in 1992 and the Treaty of Amsterdam in 1997 both confirmed Strasbourg as the official seat of the European Parliament.

The Council of Europe was founded in 1949 and is an intergovernmental political organisation with 47 Member States. It seeks to defend human rights and pluralist democracy, to promote awareness and encourage the development of Europe’s cultural identity and diversity.

The European Court of Human Rights was set up in 1959 and is based in Strasbourg, in the Human Rights Building. The Court is the judicial organ of the Council of Europe (and not of the European Union). Its mission is to ensure respect of the “Convention for the Protection of Human Rights and Fundamental Freedoms”, commonly referred to as the European Convention on Human Rights.


Thorbjørn Jagland

Thorbjørn Jagland is a Norwegian politician, currently serving as the Secretary General of the Council of Europe (since 2009). He served as Prime Minister of Norway from 1996 to 1997, as Minister of Foreign Affairs and as President of the Storting. Mr. Jagland is also the patron of the European Youth Parliament.

General Assembly, Monday 19th

Christos Giakoumopoulos

Christos Giakoumopoulos is a Greek international civil servant who was appointed Director General of Human Rights and Rule of Law of the Council of Europe in August 2017.
He was previously Director of Human Rights and also Director of Monitoring in the same Directorate General between 2006 – 2011.

Conference, Saturday 17th

Jean-Philippe Fussler

Jean-Philippe Fussler is Proviseur of the Lycée International des Pontonniers, host of the session.

Opening Ceremony, Thursday 16th

Bruno Studer

© Antoine Lamielle

Bruno Studer is a French politician representing La République En Marche! He was elected to the French National Assembly in June 2017, representing the department of Bas-Rhin. He is also President of the Cultural Affairs and Education Committee at the French National Assembly.

Conference, Saturday 17th

Jean-Philippe Maurer

Jean-Philippe Maurer is a county representative of Strasbourg.

Conference, Saturday 17th